April 21, 2023



Image item

Introducing: Lauren Watkins Cover Art | Courtesy of Big Loud Records / Songs & Daughters | Image by Claire Schaper | Download Here

NASHVILLE, TENN. – Debuting with a statement-making seven-song set today, Big Loud Records / Songs & Daughters’ songbird Lauren Watkins is staking her claim on country music with Introducing: Lauren Watkinsout now.

“These are the seven songs I felt like everyone should hear first,” she shares. “I hope they really resonate with people and make them feel a certain way, even if it’s just making them want to have a good time! Thank you for the love already – we’ve got so much more to show you.”

Watkins’ entrance finds her collaborating with some of Music City’s best and brightest: lauded writers like mentor and label boss Nicolle Galyon, Shane McAnally, Rodney Clawson, Tofer Brown, Andrew DeRoberts, and Lauren Hungate, fellow artists ERNEST and Meg McRee, and even her older sister / day one champion Caroline Watkins, an on-the-rise songwriter in her own right and the first person to put a mic in her hand. Diamond-certified studio wizard Joey Moi produces across.

Calling it like she sees it throughout the introduction, the buzzy artist-writer’s trademark no-frills lyricism and unshakeable melodies shine. High praise and hefty comparisons are steadily rolling in as momentum rises.


“There’s an effortlessly smoky quality to Watkins’ voice, with a style of direct-yet-poetic songwriting reminiscent of Kacey Musgraves or Miranda Lambert.”  Billboard

“There’s a sharp humour at play here too, something the genre hasn’t seen since ‘Same Trailer Different Park’ era Kacey Musgraves and a mature, slick Sheryl Crow-esque sheen to the music”  Entertainment Focus

“There’s the wit of Kacey’s wordplay, the eye-rolling sass of Miranda, the twang of Reba and the no-frills storytelling of Ashley McBryde. All those influences and many more have been combined into one enormous force of country music that has the potential to be even bigger than them all.”  Holler

“Wow. What a debut. The songwriting here is awesome, and her expressive delivery is spot-on. So far, she’s issued seven sides…Absolutely send more.” – MusicRow

“A buzz worthy arrival for country fans.”  Country Central

Introducing: Lauren Watkins Track List

1. Sleeping In My Makeup (Lauren Watkins, Tofer Brown, Lauren Hungate, Meg McRee)
2. Camel Blues (Lauren Watkins, Jonathan Gamble, Lauren Hungate, Matt Morrisey)
3. Anybody But You (Lauren Watkins, Rodney Clawson, Mark Holman, Ernest Keith Smith)
4. Grain of Salt (Lauren Watkins, Andrew DeRoberts, Lauren Hungate)
5. Shirley Temple (Lauren Watkins, Nicolle Galyon, Meg McRee)
6. Ole Miss (Lauren Watkins, Adam James, Mikey Reaves)
7. Dark Places (Lauren Watkins, Shane McAnally, Caroline Watkins)

Listen to Introducing: Lauren Watkins here.

Adding two new visualizers to her arsenal to pair with the release, Watkins’ originals spring to life with “Anybody But You” (From The Laundromat) and “Ole Miss” (From Oxford), both captured in and around her alma mater. Watch here and here.

“It’s surreal to think about people hearing what I’ve been working on for the past couple years,” Watkins says of the long-awaited moment she’s in. “I care so much about songwriting and country music. I feel lucky to share my take on both with you today.”


Drenched in authenticity and rife with barstool charm with an addictive, Tennessee limestone gravel in her voice, Nashville-born and bred songbird Lauren Watkins writes, breathes, and lives country music. The 23-year-old original grew up on the outskirts of Guitar Town, mesmerized by a jukebox rotation of country music, from outlaws like Willie Nelson and Sheryl Crow to chart-toppers Eric Church, Miranda Lambert, and Chris Stapleton. Moving back after four years at Ole Miss, Watkins’ unyielding, turn on a dime lyricism quickly caught the attention of GRAMMY-nominated multi-hyphenate Nicolle Galyon, who signed her to publishing and recording contracts with Songs & Daughters / Big Loud Records almost instantly. Honing in on a sound that’s both reverent of the genre’s roots and in lockstep with where it’s headed next, she’s introducing her take on country music now with seven-song teaser set, Introducing: Lauren WatkinsCatch her touring the new music on the road all summer long at notable fairs and festivals including Carolina Country Fest, Biloxi Crawfish Boil, Nashville’s CMA Fest, Faster Horses, Watershed Festival, TidalWave Music Festival, and more.



Media Contact

Jess Anderson | Big Loud Records

Image item

Lauren Watkins | Image by Claire Schaper | Download Here

Image item

Lauren Watkins “Anybody But You” Press Photo | Image by Claire Schaper | Download Here

Lauren Watkins - “Anybody But You” (From The Laundromat)

Join Big Loud's Mailing List