April 28, 2023



Image item

Unlearn Album Art | Courtesy of Big Loud Records | Download Here

NASHVILLE, TENN. –  Successful songwriter-turned-Big Loud Records recording artist Griffen Palmer has proven his staying power with a storyteller’s pen and an entrancing vocal. Armed with clever lyrics that showcase his knack for double entendres and switch-laden phrases, he enlivens each track with a charming, crystalline delivery, pouring fresh energy into the genre’s landscape.

Palmer’s unique superpower is undoubtedly his ability to bury deeper connections within his words, leaving listeners uncovering a new meaning with every listen. Today, he unpacks all that and more with his 10-track debut album, Unlearn, available now.

“Four years ago when I started to write for this record, I honestly wasn’t sure what it would sound like,” Palmer remembers. “I knew the music that I loved, and I was constantly inspired by all the songwriting going on around me, but I felt really overwhelmed by the idea of defining MY music for the first time. I decided to put trust in the idea that if I worked really hard and made music with people I truly love and respect, I would end up with a project that felt like me. Little by little, all these bits of my story came together to create this record.”

The 27-year-old emerging talent knows first-hand the whirlwind of life and relationships that define your twenties, an experience perfectly captured throughout the 10 pop-infused country hitters. The universal emotions that are experienced in love, family, friendship, heartbreak, and change span across the track list, all resoundingly heartfelt sentiments Palmer knows first-hand.

“To me, the songs on this record are really about what it feels like to be a young person experiencing life and love for the first time,” Palmer explains. “It’s the process of learning who you are, especially through the lens of meeting new people, building relationships, and sometimes losing them. When I hear these songs, I picture the exact times in my life when I felt that feeling. I hope that you can see a bit of yourself in them, too.”

After giving listeners a tease of what to expect with a spellbinding version of his career-launching wedding ballad “Second Guessing,” the Songland-winning track that demonstrated “the songwriter’s version is usually superior” (MusicRow), and follow up “25 To Life,” Palmer proved to be one of country’s newest prodigies” (Holler). Giving one last glimpse of the anticipated debut, Palmer gifted his younger self the message he wished he’d had growing up with the album’s title track, “Unlearn,” his most vulnerable offering to date that “will emotionally hit you like a ton of bricks” (The Boot).

Today, Palmer releases the remainder of lessons to be learned and unlearned, expressed through the endless love cycle of “Put Me Through Hello,” post-breakup confessional “By The Way,” the tension-filled, confrontational “Bottles On The Table,” and more.

Brought to life by studio mastermind Joey Moi, the entire collection of melodic earworms was penned by a one-of-a-kind writing duo: Palmer and GRAMMY-nominated creative Geoff Warburton (Shawn Mendes, Machine Gun Kelly, 5 Seconds Of Summer). Their chemistry clear throughout the distinguished debut, the pair’s partnership has also led to outside cuts, like Keith Urban’s “Polaroid,” Diplo’s “Sad In The Summer” featuring Lily Rose, and standouts from The Band Camino, Chelsea CutlerJade Eagleson, and more.

Unlearn Track List

1. Second Guessing (Griffen Palmer, Corey Crowder, Ester Dean, Andrew DeRoberts, Tyler Hubbard, Brian Kelley, Shane McAnally, Ben Simonetti, Ryan Tedder, Geoff Warburton)
2. 25 To Life (Griffen Palmer, Geoff Warburton)
3. Unlearn (Griffen Palmer, Geoff Warburton)
4. Put Me Through Hello (Griffen Palmer, Geoff Warburton)
5. By The Way (Griffen Palmer, Jordan Reynolds, Geoff Warburton)
6. Small Town After All (Griffen Palmer, Geoff Warburton)
7. Came Here To Leave (Griffen Palmer, Geoff Warburton)
8. Late To The Party (Griffen Palmer, Geoff Warburton)
9. How Many Beers (Griffen Palmer, Geoff Warburton)
10. Bottles On The Table (Griffen Palmer, Geoff Warburton)
All Songs Produced by Joey Moi

Listen to Unlearn HERE.

Wrapping a nationwide run supporting labelmate Lily Rose’s 2023 headline tour and a performance at Live in the Vineyard Goes Country earlier this week, the SiriusXM The Highway “Highway Find” continues working his way towards stardom” (Country Now), adding to his bucket-list moment his first ever performance at CMA Fest this June.


Sizzling Big Loud Records upstart Griffen Palmer is more than meets the eye. Growing up musically, his artist/musician father instilled an early appreciation for lyricism in him that soon turned into a love for the craft of songwriting. Cultivating a strong pen and sturdy performance chops through four-hour, back-corner cover sets in dusty college bars at Ohio’s Bowling Green State University, the D1 rugby player’s house party introduction to GRAMMY-nominated hitmaker Geoff Warburton (Shawn Mendes, Machine Gun Kelly) was the tip of the scale that moved him to Music City. Winning NBC’s Songland in May of 2020, the in-demand wordsmith has only continued stacking cuts with global superstars like Florida Georgia Line (“Second Guessing”), Keith Urban (“Polaroid”), The Band Camino, Chelsea Cutler, MacKenzie Porter, Jade Eagleson and more. Starting the year off hot with a solo version of “Second Guessing,” the SiriusXM The Highway “Highway Find” performed the heart-stopping ballad on ABC’s The Bachelor. Just wrapping a nationwide run with labelmate Lily Rose supporting her 2023 headline tour, the 27-year-old’s midwestern drive and versatility are on full display, showcased on his debut album Unlearn out now.



#   #   #

Media Contact

Mackenzie Pepper | Big Loud Records

“Put Me Through Hello” (Performance Video)

Image item

Griffen Palmer | Image by Chris Hornbuckle | Download Here


Join Big Loud's Mailing List